Royal Australasian College of Physicians
One of the last grand terraced residences surviving from colonial Sydney
About the building
Home of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians since 1938, the building at 145 Macquarie Street is one of the last remaining residences from the colonial period in Sydney.
The original two-storey home was designed in 1848 by architect John Bibb and built by Jacob Inde for John Fairfax and his family. The house was extended vertically around 1880 by replacing the attic with a complete floor. The third and fourth floors were added in 1909 by C H Slayter, a prominent Sydney architect of the Edwardian period.
From 1890 to 1931 the premises were leased by the Warrigal Club, which was established in Sydney for the ‘purpose of promoting social intercourse amongst the gentlemen engaged in pastoral pursuits in NSW and adjacent colonies’. The Royal Australasian College of Physicians purchased the building in 1937 for £23,950.
Visitors can tour the ground floor and first floor of the building to view the colonial architecture and subsequent renovations.Built
C H Slayter, 1909; Cobden Parkes, 1938; Clive Lucas, Stapleton & Partners, project architect Hector Abrahams, 1994
Find out more about this building here