One of Sydney’s only surviving 19th-century harbourside estates
About the building
Vaucluse House is a large, picturesque estate and harbourside retreat with public access to the foreshore.
In 1805, Sir Henry Browne Hayes, an eccentric Irish knight banished to the colony, built a single-storey stone cottage. He named the property Vaucluse. In 1827, William Charles Wentworth bought the cottage for himself and his future wife, Sarah Cox, and what would be a family of ten children. Over five decades, William and Sarah transformed the cottage into a Gothic Revival–style mansion surrounded by a sprawling estate.
Vaucluse House comprises the Wentworths’ house, kitchen wing, stables and outbuildings surrounded by 10 hectares of formal gardens and grounds. Visitors can explore the lavish entertaining rooms that convey the social aspirations and lifestyles of the Wentworths, as well as the functional areas for the servants who lived and worked there. The interiors include original pieces owned by the Wentworths, along with other furniture, furnishings and collections from the early to mid-19th century. Visitors can also wander around the secluded grounds.Built
Mortimer Lewis, 1840s
Find out more about this building here